Blog Post > News > News - Indian Railways > Southern Railway Shines: 9 Heroes Earn Top Awards, Station Efficiency Soars (2024)
Featured Images

Southern Railway Shines: 9 Heroes Earn Top Awards, Station Efficiency Soars (2024)


Nine Southern Railway personnel, comprising two officers and seven staff members, have been selected for the esteemed Ati Vishisht Rail Seva Puraskar for the year 2023. This award represents the most distinguished accolade for individuals working in the railway sector. The recipients of the Ati Vishisht Rail Seva Puraskar are set to receive their honours in a ceremony presided over by the Railway Minister on December 15, 2023, in New Delhi. The event coincides with the celebration of the 68th Railway Week Central Function.

Additionally, Southern Railway has been recognized for exceptional Commercial efficiency, earning the overall Commercial efficiency shield. It has also achieved distinction in Safety, sharing the overall Safety shield with East Coast Railway and North East Frontier Railway.

The esteemed Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw, serving as the Minister of Railways, Communications, Electronics, and Information Technology, is scheduled to confer the awards upon the recipients. This prestigious ceremony will also witness the presence of Shri Raosaheb Patil Danve and Smt Darshana Jardosh, the Honourable Ministers of State for Railways, who will be joining in to present the awards.

The list of Southern Railway officials selected for 68th Railway Week Ati vishisht Rail Seva Puraskar 2023 are:

Sr. NoNameDesignation
1.Shri. K. Veera PerumalTrack Maintainer GR II
2.Shri. M.K. Sudheesh Kumar Loco Pilot
3.Shri. T. Selva KumarDy. Chief Ticket Inspector
4.Shri. Deshidi Madhusudhan ReddyRPF Inspector
5.Shri. A SelvarajaSr. Section Engineer
6.Smt. Durgadevi VijayakumarChief Nursing Superintendent
7.Shri. E. Hari KrishnanSr. Divisional Commercial Manager
8.Shri. S. Mayileri Sr. Divisional Engineer
9.Shri. S. MariappanAsst. Signal & Telecommunication Engineer



Shri. E. Hari Krishnan: Mr. E. Hari Krishnan was instrumental in the inception of the first Bharat Gaurav Train, launched on June 14, 2022. He proactively interacted with key participants and conducted effective promotional activities. As a result of these actions, the Salem Division and the Southern Railway emerged as frontrunners in the Railway Board’s campaign to integrate private sector investment into the rail industry. The initial Bharat Gaurav Train culminated in a revenue of INR 4.30 crore from six journeys over a period from June to December 2023. Due to Mr. Krishnan’s dedicated efforts, three additional firms have enrolled in the Bharat Gaurav Train scheme via the Southern Railway’s designated portal. 

The awards and accolades of course would not be possible without the vital contribution of the following employees:

Shri. K. Veera Perumal, Track Maintainer GR II, Manamadurai: While conducting his patrol duties in Manamadurai, he identified a track weld defect and promptly took action to halt the incoming Train No. 16851, known as the Boat Mail Express, by signaling the locomotive engineers with a red hand sign. His commitment to his responsibilities, awareness of safety measures, and quick thinking were crucial in protecting the lives of numerous passengers and preventing a potentially significant accident.

Shri. M.K. Sudheesh Kumar, Loco Pilot, Erode: On October 26, 2022, during the operation of Train No.22837, Hatia – Ernakulam Jn AC Express, an incident occurred wherein an elephant was detected stationary on the railway tracks within the Walayar-Kanjikode sector. The train operator executed an immediate application of the emergency braking system. This timely intervention not only conserved the life of the endangered elephant but also prevented a potential derailment situation.

Shri. T. Selva Kumar, Dy. Chief Ticket Inspector, Southern Railway: His diligent and outstanding efforts have successfully uncovered instances of counterfeit Aadhar card usage to facilitate ‘Ticket Transfers’ and exploit the Senior Citizen quota for securing lower berth allocations on trains. In the fiscal year 2022-23, he imposed penalties on 13,281 cases, resulting in the accumulation of fines totalling INR 91.92 lakh from those who violated the regulations.

Shri. Deshidi Madhusudhan Reddy, Dy. Chief Ticket Inspector, SRHQ: He demonstrated his capability by solving significant offences stipulated under the Railways Act and the Indian Penal Code (IPC). His accomplishments include the resolution of 57 cases related to the Railways Act and the apprehension of 117 individuals. Additionally, he succeeded in reclaiming Railway assets valued at INR 8.7 lakhs, which encompassed 162 metres of copper wire estimated at INR 2.08 crores. Moreover, he intercepted 10.7 kilograms of illicitly trafficked gold, valued at INR 5.02 crores, leading to the arrest of 7 suspects. He also confiscated 46,390 packets of foreign cigarettes, worth INR 92.78 lakhs, and 189 kilograms of cannabis, valued at INR 38.74 lakhs, culminating in the detention of 15 individuals. Beyond these, he seized unreported cash amounting to INR 1.10 crores and detained 6 persons, in addition to impounding 112 kilograms of tobacco products.

Shri. A. Selvaraja, Sr. Section Engineer, Avadi EMU Car Shed: He provided an exemplary service by proficiently finalising the transformation of the Mainline Electric Multiple Unit (MEMU) 3-phase motor coaches, numbered 188438 and 188439, into steam heritage locomotives, while incorporating modern, advanced features.

Smt. Durgadevi Vijayakumar, Chief Nursing Superintendent, Perambur Railway Hospital: For over two decades, specifically 26 years, she has rendered unwavering service in the Intensive Care Unit, providing substantial aid to both Cardiac Surgeons and Cardiologists. Additionally, her readiness to offer support during emergencies around the clock is noteworthy. Her dedication to treating heart patients has enabled countless individuals to return home in good spirits. Her performance during the COVID-19 pandemic was notably commendable.

Shri S. Mayileri, Sr. Divisional Engineer: He played a significant role in overseeing the timely execution of the Through Turnout renewal, which facilitated the enhancement of the Arakkonam-Renigunta Section’s sectional speed from 110 km/h to 130 km/h. Numerous track upgrades have been implemented in the Arakkonam-Jolarpettai Section to raise the sectional speed from 110 km/h to 130 km/h. Under his guidance, urgent repair operations on Bridge No. 299, an arch bridge, were expedited.

Shri. S. Mariappan, Asst. Signal & Telecommunication Engineer: His contributions were outstanding in ensuring the work was completed on schedule, with an emphasis on enhancing reliability and operational efficiency. Notable accomplishments include the installation, testing, and commissioning of Electronic Interlocking & MSDAC across multiple stations and yards within the Chennai Division. The adoption of MSDAC alongside DC track circuits has significantly diminished failures during the monsoon season and has also enhanced the running time and operational adaptability of the yard.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *